Thursday, November 12, 2009

Congressional Military Family Caucus Established

By: Elizabeth M. Cochran, Legislative Assistant

Congressman Sanford D. Bishop, Jr. (D-GA) and Congresswoman Cathy McMorris Rodgers (D-WA) held an event on Capitol Hill Wednesday, November 4th, to celebrate the establishment of the Congressional Military Family Caucus which they co-chair. Attendees included Congressional members, military and veteran service organizations, and military families.

House Speaker Nancy Pelosi spread the good news at her quarterly roundtable discussion with military and veterans' service organizations later the same day.

The Congressional Military Family Caucus mission statement, available on their Facebook fan page, states the following:

      We recognize that when a service member joins the military, it is not just a job; it is a family commitment to our country. As our country continues to deploy troops overseas, we see the impact it has on family members at home.

      This new caucus will foster the interest of family members of the uniformed service members by educating Members and staff on resources the military provides as well as discuss the barriers that a military family faces. Our goal is to address issues such as education, childcare, healthcare, spouse employment, and the effects of multiple deployments.

      Admiral Mike Mullen, Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, and his wife endorsed the caucus as well.

This comes a fitting time when earlier this month President Obama claimed November as the month of the military family in addition to Congress previously dubbing 2009 as the year of the military family.

One of ROA’s top goals is to advocate for readiness and support programs for military families. We look forward to working with the Congressional Military Family Caucus.

Currently there are 79 Congressional members from both sides of the aisle including two delegates. See below to find out if your Representative is a member:

Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers (Co-Chair) Rep. Sanford Bishop (Co-Chair) Rep. Eric Massa Rep. Vic Snyder Rep. Carol Shea-Porter Rep. Robert A. Brady Rep. Madeleine Z. Bordallo Rep. Henry E. Brown, Jr. Rep. Kathy Dahlkemper Rep. Joe Sestak Rep. Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan Rep. Travis Childers Rep. Gabrielle Giffords Rep. Dina Titus Rep. Lynn Jenkins Rep. John M. Spratt, Jr. Rep. Robert E. Latta Rep. Frank Wolf Rep. Robert J. Wittman Rep. John Hall Rep. Bobby Scott Rep. Gene Taylor Rep. Bob Etheridge Rep. Ed Whitfield Rep. Todd Platts Rep. Betsy Markey Rep. John Hall Rep. Walt Minnick Rep. Glenn Nye Rep. Ciro D. Rodriguez Rep. David Loebsack Rep. Greg Walden Rep. Tom Rooney Rep. James P. McGovern Rep. Elton Gallegly Rep. Glenn "GT" Thompson Rep. Ileana Ros-Lehtinen Rep. Doug Lamborn Rep. Joe Courtney Rep. Steve Austria Rep. Rush Holt Rep. Tim Walz Rep. John Kline Rep. Kendrick Meek Rep. Heath Shuler Rep. Gerry Connolly Rep. Thaddeus McCotter Rep. Jeff Fortenberry Rep. Adam Smith Rep. Susan Davis Rep. Kay Granger Rep. Jason Altmire Rep. Walter Jones Rep. Ralph M. Hall Rep. Edward J. Markey Rep. Joseph Cao Rep. Bill Foster Rep. Debbie Halverson Rep. André Carson Rep. Brett Guthrie Rep. Norm Dicks Rep. Dan Boren Rep. Rob Bishop Rep. Buck McKeon Rep. Joe Wilson Rep. Jerry Moran Rep. Mary Fallin Rep. Edward Royce Rep. Trent Franks Rep. Duncan Hunter Rep. Al Green Rep Virginia Foxx Rep. Jeff Miller Rep. Harry Teague Rep. Michael Conway Rep. Carolyn C. Kilpatrick Rep. James Moran Rep. Henry Waxman Rep. Ike Skelton

No comments: